Easy Cheddar Cheese Fondue

I love fondue. Who wouldn’t love melted cheese to dip various food in. It also indulges my bent toward indecision. Will I dip apple? pretzel? bread? broccoli? chicken nugget? I can do one of each if I so desired. Last April, Jason and I went to the Melting Pot and still drool over the concept of going back. I just can’t bring myself to spent $80-$100 on a dinner of dipping.

But guess what? Fondue is really not that hard to make and you probably already have everything in your refrigerator right now. Or almost everything. This recipe is adapted from Taste Book  which is actually adapted from the Melting Pot!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of beer (we used Hefeweizen, but I am sure any will do)
  • 3 cups shredded Sharp Cheddar
  • 1 Tablespoon Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Dry Mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, mix shredded cheese with flour until cheese is evenly coated. This helps it melt easily and thicken.
  2. In your fondue pot on low heat, heat your beer. Slowly add and mix the cheese and flour mixture.
  3. Add mustard, Worcestershire sauce and pepper to taste.
  4. Dip to your hearts content. We dipped homemade bread, green apples and pretzels because that is what we had.

fondue

We also made a chocolate fondue, which was really more like hot fudge (not a bad thing), but I will save that for another post!

Leave a Reply

